Archive | March 18, 2017

It’s done!

It’s finally done! Well, we have to put plate covers on two outlets and the light switch, but otherwise we’re finally finished! Here’s a quick picture chronicle. Unfortunately I don’t have a picture of the before! Though I don’t really want to remember it that way!

This is EVERYTHING primed! I’ve tried to paint raw drywall before and the paint just doesn’t come out even without it, not to mention it will take 3 or more coats to get it to turn out correctly. So one coat of primer is better in the end.

Starting to paint!

This is both colors up.

Now the trim.

You can see that I finally got the closet cleaned out! That was horrible! Especially the weird sticky brown stains in there. I don’t even want to know what the kids got all over the walls. We also painted the inside of the closet. It made a world of difference.

Here are the final pics!

What do you think? I like how it turned it. The room is our smallest. I finally measured it and it is a 13’x13′ room. Not a bad size for the smallest bedroom in the house.

The cast iron bed has been mine since high school. The pink doily on the back is a piece tatted by my great-grandma Esther. Sadly she passed on when I was about 8 months pregnant with my first child, so over 25 years ago. Hard to believe so much time has passed. Anyhow…

The lighter colors and the trim don’t show up quite the same in pictures as they do in real life. The walls are more of a buttery color and the trim a shade darker than white. Here are the color strips.

The main walls are Chai Tea Latte. The accent wall is Honey Haven and the trim is Instant Relief. LOL. I used a Pittsburgh Paint base because it was on sale for $24 a gallon. I have to say, I’m happy with it. I used one full gallon of the Latte, 1/2 a gallon of the Honey and 3/4 of the Instant Relief.

Every color had to have a second coat and that is even after we primed the dry wall. Imagine how many coats I would have had to do if I hadn’t primed! I used 1 1/2 gallons just of the primer. I primed the walls and the trim.

So, you’d think I’d be ready to finish my books, right? Wrong! I’m spending today and tomorrow cleaning out our old room and the other bedroom for my daughter and granddaughter. Blah! They are moving stuff in and will be here for good on Monday when we move the big stuff.

My daughter is working today so I gave my husband the choice to stay home and clean while I babysat or babysit while I cleaned.

He’s babysitting. LOL. Big surprise there!

Don’t forget to enter the hop at the top of the page. I’ll be awarding two prizes. I know a $6 prize seems weird, but since a lot of ebooks are priced at $2.99 you’ll be able to purchase 2!

The second winner will get a choice of one of my ebooks below.

