From Me to You Friday- Tamara-Road Rage

stop_sign_page Many of you that follow me already know, but those that don’t my sister was killed in a car accident in 2009. I won’t go into the grisly details, but she was hit by an 18 wheeler that crossed the center line on a 2 lane highway near our home.

I didn’t drive for a year after her accident. I just couldn’t face getting behind the wheel of a car. My poor husband and DD#1 drove me everywhere. Every time I sat behind the steering wheel I imagined horrible scenarios of accidents and death. (I still do at times) But I have faced my fears and I drive again. Though I still hate the interstates.

I was always a defensive driver. My mother taught me that. Today I need to rant. Where are you going in such a hurry?

I was driving to my daughter’s house this morning, as do each day to watch my grandson’s for the summer. On the same road where my sister perished. As I said it is a 2 lane highway. The speed limit is 55 MPH and it is a twisty and turny road. Mostly no passing zones. There were ten cars in front of me, all going the speed limit and lined up bumper to bumper. I was also going the speed limit, however I don’t sit on someone’s bumper at 55. I had a few car lengths between me and the car in front of me. (That’s what you are supposed to do, right?)

The idiot behind me decides he needs to pass me, in a no passing zone. Why? So he can get behind the ten cars in front of me that he CAN’T pass, but be a few car lengths closer to the stop light we are approaching in a few miles. WHY?

Accident

He felt it necessary to endanger MY life, HIS life, the life of anyone approaching in the oncoming lane, just so he could get to the stop light 2 seconds before me. DUMB, DUMB, DUMB!

I avoid saying anything political in my feeds. I don’t link it’s my place to force my views on my readers or even share them. They are mine and I’ll keep them to myself. But understand this, a car is as much a weapon as a gun. It is 2000 pounds of danger if not used properly, and it can destroy someone’s life in an instant.

So when you get behind the wheel remember…Arrive alive…Five minutes late is better than never…No text is that important…You aren’t alone on the road.

Okay, my rant is over. I hope you understand this comes from a place of love.

happy driving

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

