Chalvaren Rising ~ Paula Millhouse ~ Character Interview with Magnus the Dragon.

Character Interview

 

Introduce yourself.  What book are you from? Are you the hero, heroine, villain?

My name is Magnus, and I am a sentient dragon from the Kingdom of Chalvaren. I flew into fiction first in Dragonstone, but I really earn my wings in the fantasy romance novel Chalvaren Rising by my author, Paula Millhouse.

Of course, I am the one they will call hero. Some Readers may think of Elf Prince Kort Elias as the hero of Chalvaren Rising, but I’m afraid that’s not so. My Mia, my rider, is definitely the heroine. She loves Kort, so I tolerate him.

 

How did you come to your author’s attention?

She has had this affinity for my kind, for dragons, since she was a child. Paula needed to write a fantasy romance where dragons are allies, keepers of the castle if you will, so I auditioned for the role. She keeps this idea in her heart that love is worth fighting for. I helped her get that notion of valiance across on the page.

 

Did you give your author a hard time when she was writing your story?

Of course, well, I do not exactly fit in to the wing of dragons on Chalvaren yet. I have eaten two people, and one of them was an elf. I did not know any better at the time. Because I have the gift of speech, like my sire Garnet the Red, the other dragons on Chalvaren give me a wide berth. And when I attacked Queen Elissabet for being mean to Mia that caused all sorts of problems.

 

What do you do for a living?

I fly with the wing of mighty dragons who protect the elves of Castle Elias in Chalvaren. I am still learning to get my landing maneuvers down – the ground is not my friend – but I am learning. We are like watch-dogs, but we fly, and every dragon has a unique weapon. I have not discovered mine yet, but I suppose our story will reveal all.

 

Who is the love of your life?

My rider, Mia Ansgar. She’s more than a mother figure, she’s my imprinted rider. She saved my life, and helped Kort return me to the Kingdom of Chalvaren. I would willingly give my last claw to see my Mia happy.

 

What was the first thing you noticed about him/her?

Mia is beauty incarnate, with long tresses of golden hair, and pointed elven ears. She’s the guardian of the Dragonstone, an ancient artifact nonpareil, and she’s protecting it for me. When I reach maturity I am destined to use the fist-sized amethyst to unite the dragons of Chalvaren. I noticed her courage first.

 

What’s your greatest fear?

In Chalvaren Rising, my greatest fear is that Isa Ansgar, an embittered wizard and the last of Mia’s kin will kill her and enslave me to serve her lover Malachai. This simply cannot happen, I tell you, and I will give my life before I let the witch win.

 

What’s your motto in life?

Love is worth fighting for. That concept drew me to my author.

 

How do the other characters in your book view you?

I am afraid they find me odd and threatening. As the one and only Spirit Dragon, an Aurora Class Dragon, I have an affinity for magic. I suspect the elves and dragons in my book are afraid of me.

 

What do you think reader will find interesting about you?

That Mia and I share an affinity for magic, but of course, the Readers will most likely find it interesting that I cannot roar yet. I try, but all that comes out are embarrassing croaks. They will probably find it humorous that I have trouble landing. Kort is terrified I might break Mia’s neck before I perfect the skill, and he yells about it a lot.

 

What is the kinkiest thing you’ve ever done?

I have not learned to do kinky things yet, but because I can read I suppose I could learn. I’ll check King Lachlan’s Library for sacred texts, and get back to you when I grow up.

 

Will we be seeing you in future books?

Absolutely. My author thinks a Christmas story is on the horizon, and we are working on what happens next after the climax in Chalvaren Rising.

 

 What makes you happy?

Eating fresh fish on the seashore below Castle Elias. Flying with the wing of mighty dragons who protect the Elves of the Kingdom of Chalvaren. Watching and learning from my sire, Garnet the Red, the castle’s resident Fire Dragon.

 

What makes you mad?

Wizards who use magic for anything that does not sustain life. Everyone is given certain gifts that can and should be used for good. I think humans call that nastiness hatred and bullying. When they corrupt that sort of valiant magic and use it to hurt others, that seriously ruffles my last scale.

3D digital render of a little blue dragon isolated on white background

 

Chalvaren Rising_FINALKeynote (blurb):

With the love of Kort, Chalvaren’s warrior-prince heir, Mia Ansgar will seize her birthright and become the great dragon-riding wizardess prophesied to free that elven kingdom from her embittered sorceress kin.

 

PaulaMillhouse 2015Paula Millhouse.com
Where Fantasy, Romance, & Suspense collide.

 


    
     
One thought on “Chalvaren Rising ~ Paula Millhouse ~ Character Interview with Magnus the Dragon.

Leave a Reply

