Archive | December 26, 2013

Interviewing Emily A. Lawrence ~ The Guardian of my Soul

Beverly and Tamara: Welcome to SSLY. Thanks so much for joining us today EmilyEmily A. Lawrence. So first why don’t you tell us a little about yourself.

Emily: First of all thank you, ladies, for hosting me today. I live in Transylvania with my family and I’ve been a professional tennis player for twelve years, until an injury pulled me away from the court. Since then I’ve focused on my other hobbies, namely reading, writing, traveling and more recently cooking. I’ve never been a fan of the kitchen, but learning new recipes and spending more time with my mother is always a plus. I enjoy experiencing new cultures, new sceneries, food and meeting new people, watching documentaries, listening to music, doing yoga and working out as much as I can to stay fit. I am a big animal lover and own a nine-year-old German Shepherd whom I adore.

Tamara: What do you HAVE to have when you are writing?

Emily: When writing I need peace and quiet, and preferably to be in my writing cave, the only place where I can truly lose myself into the story and express my creativity. I need my laptop where I keep all my notes, character sheets and researched information.

Beverly: When did you start to write?

Emily: I’ve been writing stories since high school for my personal pleasure, but started doing it more seriously about a year ago. Now it’s become such an important part of my life, that I feel like something is missing when I don’t have time to write. I hope I will be doing this for a very long time.

Tamara: What do you think are the qualities that make up a “hero”?

Emily: I like handsome heroes that are smart, strong, loyal, funny, protective, loving, and who know how to handle a woman.

Beverly: Can you describe your favorite character? And which of your books is he/she in? How do you come up with your characters?

Emily: My favorite character is Alec Warner from “The Guardian Of My Soul”. Alec is sexy, charming, strong and determined to get what he wants, but he also has a troubled past and demons he has to face in order to be able to move on and live the life he desires. My characters are the products of my imagination. I’ve never based a character on a person I know or on real life events. I write male characters I’d love to hang out with and strong females who sweep them off their feet.

Tamara: What are the hardest scenes for you to write? Suspense? Sex? Dialogue? And why?

Emily: For me the sex scenes are the hardest to write, because I have to be in a certain mood when I write them, put myself in their shoes and come up with the most exciting scenes I can, that would hopefully make readers fan themselves.

Beverly: What writer, if any, influenced how you write?

Emily: I could name several, but I think E L James has been the most influential. I chose to write New Adult and erotic romance novels after reading her books. Just like her, I’ve also written fan fiction stories for years, and her success has inspired me to try my luck as well and turn some of those stories into novels.

Tamara: Who would you choose as your “book boyfriend”? From what book? Author?

Emily: I would pick Christian Grey, but without his BDSM issues haha. I like the way he is described in the books and everything he’s achieved in spite of his young age.

Beverly: What is the kinkiest thing you’ve ever done?  Or would like to? What?  We are all about the love!

Emily: I am a hopeless romantic and never been too attracted to the kinky side. I am more the make love on a beach under the starts kind of girl, with candles, flowers and heart shaped chocolates around.

Tamara: What are your favorite types of heroines? Do you like the damsel in distress who needs saving or the kick-ass variety? Why?

Emily: I prefer the kick-ass kind of heroines because I’ve always admired strong, independent women who strive on their own. But my characters also have flaws, like any other human being. There is no such thing as perfect.

Beverly: What was your worst date ever?

Emily: Dates…what a nightmare haha! Dating has never been my favorite part of a relationship. My nervousness knows no limits, especially if I really like the guy. But I don’t think I’ve had a date that would make me want to bury my head in the sand at the mere thought of it.

Tamara: If you were stranded on a desert island, what three things would you want to have with you? (you have food, water, shelter, all the necessities, so nothing mundane).

Emily: My mother, who is my rock, my dog and my laptop.

Beverly: What is your “guilty pleasure”?

Emily: Pizza. Despite doing my best to work out and lead a healthy life, I’d never say no to pizza.

Tamara: What dream or goal have you yet to realize?

Emily: My dream is to one day make the New York Times Best Seller list and to keep writing and be able to do what I enjoy most.

Beverly: What was your most embarrassing moment?

Emily: Hmmm…I hate being the center of attention and I always get cold feet when speaking in front of a large audience. So once, during a conference organized by my University, I was supposed to give a speech on environmental issues and as soon as I stepped in front of the crowd I completely forgot what I was supposed to say. Having all eyes on me didn’t help either, so it took me a moment to recover. To be honest, I still don’t know how I’ve managed to get through it in the end – ha!

Tamara: If you were a color what would you be and why?

Emily: My favorite color is the blue sky on a summer day. I find it peaceful, refreshing and soothing, and wish there could be summer all year long.

Beverly: Who has influenced how you perceive love? Why?

Emily: My parents. I come from a very happy and loving family, and I’ve always wishes for a relationship like theirs.

Tamara and Beverly: Okay. We are SSLY so we have to ask. Who loves you?

Emily: My family, my friends and a special someone I’d rather keep to myself. J

Now for some quick fun questions:

Boxers or briefs?

Boxers

Coffee or Tea?

Tea

Tall, dark and handsome or Blond and buff?

Definitely tall, dark haired and handsome.

Hairy chest or smooth?

Smooth

Chocolate or Vanilla?

Chocolate

Kinky or Sweet?

Sweet

Fast or slow?

Slow

Public or private?

Private

Top or bottom?

Bottom

final cover Guardian

 

The Guardian Of My Soul

Soul’s Desire Series

Book 1

 

Book blurb:

 “The Guardian Of My Soul” is the first book in the Soul’s Desire Series, and tells the story of Kristen and Alec, two people who struggle with one another, as well as with their own fears and insecurities.

Kristen Mancuso, daughter of a renowned fashion designer has everything her heart desires, and yet she’s still unhappy. After her father’s death, her mother’s overprotectiveness has prevented Kristen from choosing her own path in life, and she often feels as if she’s a prisoner in her own home. Kristen thought her twenty-first birthday would magically bring her the freedom she craved. She was wrong.

When her mother hires Alec Warner to be her personal bodyguard, Kristen rebels against it, unaware of the true reasons why he’s needed and the very real danger threatening her safety. Having someone shadow her every move is the last thing she wants. Alec is handsome, intimidating and determined to stand between Kristen and anyone who would harm her.

Kristen doesn’t know what to do with Alec. She’s drawn to him, and while he is committed to his job, he refuses to allow her to control him the way she does with other men. Their relationship is volatile and explosive, yet they discover they have more in common than they ever dreamed. Together they face demons from their past and secrets which could tear them apart.

Alec and Kristen fight their attraction for one another, but that’s one battle where losing may very well give them everything their souls desire…

*Content Warning: intended for mature audiences 18+

 

Excerpt:

I heard a banging at my door, not a gentle knock but a loud racket which shook the whole door. My eyes sprang open. What in the world? I looked around the room, trying to get my bearings. The hotel room was bathed in warm, bright light and my heart skipped a beat when I realized it was morning.

“Oh, Kristeeen?” Alec’s grumpy voice sounded over the loud banging.

Fred jumped off the bed and rushed to the door wagging his tail, visibly excited to hear him.

“Fred, how can you fraternize with the enemy?” I grumped, heading to the door. As soon as I opened it my traitor of a dog jumped into Alec’s arms and licked him as if he were his favorite person in the world, making him chuckle.

“Finally, the princess decides to greet the day,” he said and grinned at me once he was done petting the dog. Suddenly, his eyes dropped and his smile slowly faded away.

I blinked perplexed. Is he staring at my breasts? My God, he’s staring at my breasts! The realization elicited tremors all over my body, causing my nipples to strain against the fabric of my nightgown. Holy crap! My nightgown! I tensed when I remembered the transparent lace across my chest.

“Give him to me!” I snatched Fred out of his arms and used him to hide my aroused state. “What’s wrong with you, hammering at my door like a crazy man?” I fussed.

He cleared his throat as if to regain his voice before he answered me. “I’ve been standing here for more than five minutes calling you and nothing. What was I supposed to do? You said eight sharp and it’s almost eight thirty.”

“Damn it!” I hurried back inside the room and put Fred on the bed, then quickly looked for something comfortable to change into. I took out a pair of denim shorts and a white shirt from my suitcase, then tugged at my nightgown to pull it off over my head. I stopped halfway when I noticed him sitting on the bed, casually assessing me. “Alec!” I shuddered, gaping at him in shock. “What are you doing in here? Can’t you see I’m trying to change clothes?” I stammered in bewilderment. I couldn’t believe he’d gotten a glimpse of my equally transparent panties.

“I’m just waiting to take your luggage.” He smiled innocently, clearly not finding anything wrong with his actions.

“Wait outside, you peeping tom!” I was amazed by how brazen he turned out to be.

“My bad,” he said dryly and left the room.

It took me a moment to recover from the shock and register the warm wetness between my legs. I sighed, once more feeling betrayed by my own body. “I can’t believe him! And I refuse to be turned on, no matter how he makes me feel!” I grumbled.

When I finally exited the room, I found him waiting in the hallway and I marched up to him. “I can’t believe you saw me in my underwear! I am furious with you.” I walked on, eager to put some distance between us.

“Hey!” He grabbed my arm and pulled me abruptly, my chest slamming against his hard torso. “You’re right. What I did was inappropriate and I’m sorry. I just found myself absentmindedly walking in. I didn’t mean to be rude.” He excused himself.

“You expect me to believe that?” I murmured flush against him, taken aback by his sudden change in attitude.

“Yes, I do.”

“You were checking me out.”

“Was not,” he retorted calmly, his face merely a few inches away from mine. Then I caught the smile in his eyes. He was lying like a dog.

“Let go of me,” I whispered, feeling my heart pounding heavily and my chest heaving in agitation.

Being this close to him was doing funny things to me. I couldn’t think. I couldn’t move. I couldn’t breathe. Everything in me wanted to move closer, to lean in, to touch, but I stubbornly resisted the unwelcome temptation.

What are you doing to me? I cried out in my mind.

He leaned toward me slowly and I panicked, my breath catching in my throat. With a sudden jerk I managed to free myself from his grip and rushed to the elevator, never looking back. He followed me in silence, hauling my luggage after him. We travelled down together and I was so aware of him, my whole body reacted as if he were a powerful magnet. I was drawn to him, hanging on to the rail just to stay upright. His eyes held mine with an intensity which made me feel lightheaded and I gasped for air as the space around us suddenly appeared to be too small.

 

 

Buy links:

Kindle:

Amazon US: http://amzn.to/1dTWA7A 

Amazon UK: http://amzn.to/17NEfoL

Paperback:

Amazon US: http://amzn.to/19Xw35f

Amazon UK: http://amzn.to/1b6yYJ5

 

Author contact links:

Blog: http://authoremilylawrence.blogspot.ro/

Website: http://emilyalawrence.beaucoupllc.com/index.html

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/EmyALawrence?ref=tn_tnmn

Facebook fan page: https://www.facebook.com/author.emily.a.lawrence?ref=hl

Twitter: https://twitter.com/EmyALawrence

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/20344150-emily-a-lawrence

Pinterest: http://www.pinterest.com/authorlawrence/

Email: emilyalawrence88@gmail.com

